Book Review: The Silent Patient

silentpatient

You guys, I finished this book in less than three days. All of them were work days. Which means I was spending  ~10 hours at work per day, and still managed to finish this in less than 76 hours. IT WAS SO GOOD.

Alicia is a painter. She’s happily married to Gabriel, a photographer. So it comes to everyone’s shock when Alicia shoots Gabriel in the head five times. Since the incident, she’s been convicted of his murder and committed to a mental institution – because she hasn’t spoken a word since the police found her there, standing by his body with both of her wrists slashed open. Enter Theo, a Psychotherapist who pursued a job at Alicia’s mental health facility, the Grove, after developing a fascination with her, and a commitment to making her talk once again. Will she talk? Many have tried to enable her to do so, but Theo seems to be more determined than the rest to find out what really happened that night from Alicia herself. If she does speak, will people want to hear what she says? What turned this perfectly happy couple into the tragedy that rocked their quiet neighborhood?

I felt myself not wanting to put this book down, and not because it was so full of action that I just couldn’t get enough of; more so because it was so steady, such an even, neutral  pace that I wanted MORE and for the plot to really thicken and finally get dramatic. It wasn’t boring by any means; I just knew something was coming and that it could be around the corner at any time so I wanted to consume it allllllll until I arrived at my destination.

This book has received some feedback regarding its predictability. I suppose if you read an inordinate amount of suspenseful thrillers, maybe you can predict the ending. I love mysterious books with twist endings and personally was very surprised by this one. And certainly not at all disappointed.