My Summer Playlist

53C5AC7D-6E74-4678-A181-A5A8EB6A2F70It’s getting very hot very quickly here in Seattle which is inspiring me to brainstorm the soundtrack to Summer 2019. I feel like I’m kind of in a music rut right now but looking through my old Spotify playlists and daily mixes. My browsing has inspired the below:

Cherry Glazerr – I love the entire Stuffed and Ready album, but my favorite Summer tracks are Had Ten Dollaz, Ohio,  and Told You I’d Be with the Guys, my current favorite female solidarity anthem.

BB – Drowning – Drowning is a heavier song about an abusive relationship, but it has certain qualities that feel kind of triumphant in a way that made me listen to this track on repeat for a full day.

Still Woozy – This R&B artist is on a quick rise. He’s playing Capitol Hill Block Party in July and his tracks Lucy and Goodie Bag are the laid-back upbeat kind of songs that fit perfectly into the background of summertime.

The Strokes – I think we can all agree there’s no explanation necessary here.

Dilly Dally – Marijuana – The entire Heaven album is another on that I listen to on repeat. The lead vocals can be jarring for some, they’re extremely unique and this is a great grungey song for the season. Also check out their cover of Drake’s Know Yourself.

Shame – If you haven’t heard this British rock group yet, stop what you’re doing and go listen to one of their countless excellent tracks like Concrete, Friction, Dust on Trial, or One Rizla. Their defiant grunge takes me back to summer days in my t-top (about two decades after they were cool).

Tame Impala – Again, no explanation necessary.

Foals – Their new release, Part 1 Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost, has quite a few great tracks on it but their previous album, What Went Down, will always be my favorite. You’ve likely heard their single, My Number, but give the album a listen and you’ll find more treasures.

Lydia – Illuminate will always be my favorite album of all time, but their newest album, Liquor is full of indie-pop tracks that make the sunshine even cozier.

What are you listening to this season? I’m excited for the playlist I put together but still eagerly looking for more inspiration.

Leave a comment